Need something new to watch?

Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.

Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.

Guest entry by Neil

Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D’ was one of the most critically lauded and highly anticipated shows in the fall line-up. It was so hyped up that its premiere delivered 11.9 million viewers – made S.H.I.E.L.D. TV’s highest-rated drama debut in nearly four years. Despite all this, it was one of the most disappointing new shows last autumn, losing almost half of its viewership in the first couple of weeks. Those who, like me, stuck with it against their better judgement were eventually rewarded. After this week’s finale, ‘Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.’ ended up being one of the best new shows I’ve watched this year.

How did it go from terrible to awesome so quickly? Agent’s of S.H.I.E.L.D. has a boring start but, what you don’t realise is that it is taking its time to let you build a relationship with the characters. Although it does this with some pretty tedious and contrived story lines in the beginning, I’m happy to say the investment eventually pays off. 

The show does exactly what the best of Whedon’s projects all do, and that is having a group of people who are more than just a sum of their parts. Like Buffy’s Scooby gang, or the crew of the Serenity, the agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. become characters that you’re invested in and boy, do they go on a journey.

No worries, no spoilers, but pretty much everything that you’d hope for from a show by Joss Whedon about a shady government agency set in the Marvel universe actually happens… except for superhero cameos. But Samuel L. Jackson and Cobie Smulders do show up a couple of times, which is almost as good.

It has been picked up for a second season, and with the first season finale behind us it is shaping up to be intriguing.

Watch the trailer here:

Leave a comment